Coming soon: Michael Bruce’s Unwritten Songs

Speckulation Entertainment seem to be on a real roll at the moment. As well as Helena Blackman’s wonderful collection of Rodgers and Hammerstein classics, in a couple of weeks’ time they will release a CD of songs written by composer Michael Bruce.

Michael first came to my attention when he entered a competition they ran (under the banner of their Notes from New York brand) in conjunction with The Stage to find a new Christmas song in a musical theatre style. Michael’s song, Children, is a just beautiful, plaintive ballad that became one of my personal highlights of both the Christmas in New York shows and the subsequent cast recording. Since then, as well as orchestrating some of Speckulation’s other works (including some of Helena’s album, and the musical ads for he’s been working on various projects, the biggest and most recent of which is composing music for the forthcoming version of Much Ado About Nothing which is to star David Tennant and Catherine Tate.

Back in November 2009, a one-off show at the Apollo Theatre highlighting some of his work drew some of the cream of the West End’s young performing talent. I’m pleased to see that on the just-announced track list for the new CD, Unwritten Songs, many of them will be making an appearance on the CD.

According to the Speckulation website, the track listing is:

  1. Don’t Wanna Leave You Now – Ross Hunter
  2. Even Then – Paul Spicer
  3. I Want a Man – Sarah Lark & Sarah Earnshaw
  4. Someplace Beyond the Moon – Charlotte Wakefield
  5. Money Honey – Mark Evans
  6. Continental – Emily Tierney
  7. Away – Alex Jessop
  8. It’s Not Gonna Rain – Jessie Buckley
  9. The Musical Theatre Song – Anna-Jane Casey
  10. My Kind of World – Ashleigh Gray
  11. Portrait of a Princess – Julie Atherton
  12. Looking Back – Daniel Boys & Alexia Khadime
  13. Unwritten Song – Michael Xavier

As with Helena’s album, the CD will be launched with a concert at the Delfont Room, Prince of Edward Theatre,  on March 20, which should appeal to any fan of new musical theatre writing. I understand that the CD will be available to buy there for cheaper than the list price of £15.99. It’s also available to pre-order from

Personally, I’m looking forward to hearing Track 11. It sounds awfully like a track that Julie has been including as part of her cabarets recently, and of which I have been dying for a copy…

Update: My review of Unwritten Songs is now online.

Author: Scott Matthewman

Formerly Online Editor and Digital Project Manager for The Stage, creator of the award-winning The Gay Vote politics blog, now a full-time software developer specialising in Ruby, Objective-C and Swift, as well as a part-time critic for Musical Theatre Review, The Reviews Hub and others.