The lights aren’t quite out on Avenue Q

Rod and Daniel Boys, Avenue Q

As the final part of our [Show and Stay](http://www.show-and-stay.co.uk/) theatre quiz prize, Ade and I last night ventured to the Gielgud Theatre to see Avenue Q. We had great seats — pretty near the centre of the Row F stalls — but there were elements of the show we couldn’t see. Nor could anyone else, though – as a result of the earlier power cut in the West End, the video screens and some lighting banks weren’t working correctly.

Rather than cancel the whole performance, we were offered free interval drinks — great news for us, possibly less well-received by people who had pre-ordered their beverages before the announcement was made. Despite the technical problems, the show was as fun as ever. And Rachel Jerram, who was understudying as Kate Monster/Lucy the Slut in place of regular Cassidy Janson, was absolutely superb (as, indeed, was Taofique Folarin, understudying for Edward Baruwa as Gary). I haven’t seen Cassidy in the role yet, as this was my first revisit since Julie Atherton left — but it’s hard to imagine how she could top Rachel’s performance last night.

Avenue Q’s days at the Gielgud are numbered, as [Hair](http://www.hairthemusical.co.uk/) is transferring from Broadway and starts previewing on April 1, 2010. Whether it will transfer to another West End venue or head out on a UK tour, I don’t know — but I hope that the Avenue doesn’t shut down for good.

Image of Daniel Boys with Rod taken from my West End Live 2009 collection.

West End Live 2009

On Saturday, I went to Leicester Square to see some of the onstage performances put together by Westminster City Countil as part of the annual **West End Live** event.

Due to engineering works on train lines, and the long queueing time to get into the Leicester Square stage area, I missed performances by the cast of several big name shows, including **Sister Act** (which I still have not seen yet).

However, I did catch quite a few performances, and have put a selection the resulting photos up on Flickr. A slide show version is below:

The full collection is [available to browse on Flickr](http://www.flickr.com/photos/aggedor/sets/72157620196580994/). Please note that, unlike previous photos, I am not releasing these under any form of Creative Commons licence: if you want to use any of them for other purposes, please [contact me](/about/).

An overview of reviews

I’m about to enter full-on panto reviewing mode again, although given my out-of-town location and lack of driving ability the number of productions I get allocated is far fewer than some of our more hardy reviewers.

Before I do, I wanted to make sure that my own record of what I’ve reviewed for _The Stage_ is up to date. Below is the list as it currently stands.

**Update: an up-to-date list is now on my [Theatre Reviews index page](http://matthewman.net/theatre-reviews).

## West End

* 17/10/08: [French and Saunders: Still Alive](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/22139/french-and-saunders-still-alive), Theatre Royal Drury Lane
* 23/09/08: [We Will Rock You](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/21856/we-will-rock-you), Dominion
* 03/07/08: [Monty Python’s Spamalot](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/21171/monty-pythons-spamalot), Palace Theatre
* 27/05/08: [Haunted](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/20817/haunted), Arts Theatre
* 23/05/08: [Never Forget](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/20778/never-forget), Savoy Theatre
* 07/03/08: [The Viewing Room](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/20059/the-viewing-room), Arts Theatre
* 05/09/07: [All About My Mother](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/18142/all-about-my-mother), Old Vic
* 24/11/06: [Gates of Gold](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/14995/gates-of-gold), Trafalgar Studios
* 10/11/06: [Porgy and Bess](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/14825/porgy-and-bess), Savoy Theatre

## Fringe/off-West End

* 14/11/08: [Sweeney Todd](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/22426/sweeney-todd), Union Theatre
* 01/10/07: [Sugar Snap](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/18371/sugar-snap), Union Theatre
* 27/09/07: [I Love You Because](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/18341/i-love-you-because), Landor
* 07/06/07: [The Christ of Coldharbour Lane](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/17103/the-christ-of-coldharbour-lane), Soho Theatre
* 29/03/07: [Total Eclipse](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/16374/total-eclipse), Menie Chocolate Factory
* 01/12/06: [Love, Laugh and Live](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/15086/love-laugh-and-live), Theatre Museum
* 07/02/06: [Black and White Sextet](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/11465/black-and-white-sextet), Rosemary Branch

## Pantomime/Christmas

* 21/12/07: [Cinderella](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/19363/cinderella), Watersmeet, Rickmansworth
* 13/12/07: [Peter Pan](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/19223/peter-pan), Civic Centre, Aylesbury
* 07/12/07: [The Wizard of Oz](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/19081/the-wizard-of-oz), Elgiva, Chesham
* 19/12/06: [Aladdin](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/15425/aladdin), Civic Centre, Aylesbury
* 14/12/06: [Beauty and the Beast](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/15277/beauty-and-the-beast), Watersmeet, Rickmansworth
* 07/12/06: [Sleeping Beauty and the Beast](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/15166/sleeping-beauty-and-the-beast), Elgiva, Chesham
* 04/01/06: [Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/11146/snow-white-and-the-seven-dwarfs), Watersmeet, Rickmansworth
* 13/12/05: [Aladdin](http://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/review.php/10831/aladdin), Elgiva, Chesham